Departments & Committees

Harvard Rooftops

Celtic Languages & Literatures

Website

Warren House
Chair: Prof. Catherine McKenna
cmckenna@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Prof. Natasha Sumner
 
Department Administrator: Mary Violette
violette@fas.harvard.edu

The Classics

Website

Boylston Hall
Chair: Prof. Kathleen Coleman

kcoleman@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Prof. David Elmer

Department Administrator: Teresa Wu
ttwu@fas.harvard.edu

Comparative Literature

Website

Dana-Palmer House
Chair: Prof. David Damrosch

ddamrosc@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Dr. Sandra Naddaff

Department Administrator: Melissa Carden
carden@fas.harvard.edu

East Asian Languages & Civilizations

Website

2 Divinity Ave
Chair: Prof. David Howell
dhowell@fas.harvard.edu


Undergraduate Contact: Nicole Escolas
eas@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Alison Howe
howe@fas.harvard.edu

English

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Prof. Nicholas Watson
nwatson@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Prof. Stephanie Burt
burt@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Anna McDonald
acmcdon@fas.harvard.edu

Ethnicity, Migration, Rights

Website

2 Arrow Street
Chair: Prof. Mayra Rivera

mayra_rivera@harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact/
Department Administrator: Eleanor Craig

​​​​​​​eleanor_craig@fas.harvard.edu

Folklore & Mythology

Website

Warren House
Chair: Prof. Stephen Mitchell
samitch@fas.harvard.edu


Undergraduate Contact: Lowell Brower
labrower@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Holly Hutchison
hhutchis@fas.harvard.edu

Germanic Languages & Literatures

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Prof. John Hamilton
jhamilt@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Dr. Lisa Parkes

Department Administrator: Andreea Florescu D’Abramo
adabramo@fas.harvard.edu

History of Art & Architecture

Website

2 Arrow Street (temporary)
Chair: Prof. David Roxburgh
roxburgh@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts:
Prof. Yukio Lippit lippit@fas.harvard.edu
Thomas Batchelder tbatchel@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Ann Janik
ajanik@fas.harvard.edu

History & Literature

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Philip Deloria
deloria@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Dr. Lauren Kaminsky
kaminsky@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Jessica Shires
shires@fas.harvard.edu

Linguistics

Website

Boylston Hall
Chair: Prof. Gennaro Chierchia
chierch@fas.harvard.edu


Undergraduate Contact: Yuhin He
yhe@g.harvard.edu

Department Administrator (interim): Helen Lewis
hlewis2@fas.harvard.edu

Medieval Studies

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Prof. Josiah Blackmore

jblackmore@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact/
Department Administrator: Dr. Sean Gilsdorf
gilsdorf@fas.harvard.edu

Music

Website

3 Oxford Street
Chair: Prof. Suzannah Clark
sclark@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts:
Prof. Emily Dolan edolan@fas.harvard.edu
Mary MacKinnon mackinnon@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Nancy Shafman
nshafman@fas.harvard.edu

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations

Website

6 Divinity Ave
Chair: Prof. Khaled El-Rouayheb
kel@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts:
Dr. Gojko Barjamovic barjamovic@fas.harvard.edu
Eva Misho eva_misho@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Carrie Mountain
cmountain@fas.harvard.edu

Philosophy

Website

Emerson Hall
Chair (interim): Prof. Alison Simmons
asimmons@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts: 
Prof. Bernhard Nickel bnickel@fas.harvard.edu
Nyasha Borde nyashaborde@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Emily Ware
eware@fas.harvard.edu

Religion

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Prof. Catherine Brekus

cbrekus@hds.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Dr. Courtney Lamberth
lamberth@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Elise Ciregna
​​​​​​​emciregna@fas.harvard.edu

Romance Languages & Literatures

Website

Boylston Hall
Chair: Prof. Mariano Siskind
siskind@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts:
Dr. Kathy Richman richman@fas.harvard.edu
Katherine Killough (language) killough@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Mike Holmes
mholmes@fas.harvard.edu

Slavic Languages & Literatures

Website

Barker Center
Chair: Prof. Stephanie Sandler
ssandler@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contacts:
Prof. Daria Khitrova dkhitrova@fas.harvard.edu
Dr. Steven Clancy (language) sclancy@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Lenia Constantinou
constantinou@fas.harvard.edu

South Asian Studies

Website

One Bow Street
Chair: Prof. Sunil Amrith
amrith@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Dr. Richard DeLacy
rdelacy@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Cheryl Henderson
cherylhenderson@fas.harvard.edu

Theater, Dance & Media

Website

Farkas Hall
Chair: Prof. Martin Puchner

puchner@fas.harvard.edu

Undergraduate Contact: Debra Levine
debralevine@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Emily Warshaw
ewarshaw@fas.harvard.edu

Visual & Environmental Studies

Website

Carpenter Center
Chair:
Lucien Castaing-Taylor
lgtaylor@fas.harvard.edu (Fall 2018)
Robb Moss robbmoss@fas.harvard.edu (Spring 2019)

Undergraduate Contacts:
Ruth Lingford lingford@fas.harvard.edu
Paula Soares soares@fas.harvard.edu

Department Administrator: Denise Oberdan
oberdan@fas.harvard.edu