Departments & Degree Programs

Arts & Humanities Degree-Granting Programs

Undergraduate Programs

Art, Film, and Visual Studies

Concentration with Tracks and Secondary Fields in Film/Video Production, Film and Visual Studies, and Studio Arts

Chair: Prof. David Joselit (djoselit@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Matt Saunders (msaunders@fas.harvard.edu)
Manager of Academic Programs: Paula Soares (soares@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Administration: Denise Oberdan (oberdan@fas.harvard.edu)

Celtic Languages & Literatures

Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Catherine McKenna (cmkenna@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Natasha Sumner (nsumner@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Mary Violette (violette@fas.harvard.edu)

The Classics

Concentration and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. David Elmer (delmer@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Jared Hudson (jhudson@fas.harvard.edu
Department Administrator: Teresa Wu (ttwu@fas.harvard.edu)

Comparative Literature

Concentration and Secondary Fields in Comparative Literature and Translation Studies

Chair: Prof. David Damrosch (ddamrosc@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Sandra Naddaff (snaddaff@fas.harvard.edu)
Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Isaure Mignotte (mignotte@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Melissa Carden (carden@fas.harvard.edu)

East Asian Studies

Concentration and Secondary Field

Interim Chair: Prof. Shigehisa Kuriyama (hkuriyam@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Melissa McCormick (mccorm@fas.harvard.edu)
Undergraduate Coordinator: Nicole Escolas (eas@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: John Park (johnpark@fas.harvard.edu)

English

Concentration and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Glenda Carpio (carpio@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Deidre Lynch (deidrelynch@fas.harvard.edu)
Undergraduate Program Administrator: Lauren Bimmler (lbimmler@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Anna McDonald (acmcdon@fas.harvard.edu)

Ethnicity, Migration, Rights

Secondary Fields in Ethnicity, Migration, Rights and Latina/o Studies

Chair: Prof. Raquel Vega-Duran (rvegaduran@fas.harvard.edu)
Administrative and Program Director: Dr. Eleanor Craig (eleanor_craig@fas.harvard.edu)

Folklore & Mythology

Concentration and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Stephen Mitchell (samitch@fas.harvard.edu)
Head Tutor: Dr. Lowell Brower (labrower@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Holly Hutchison (hhutchis@fas.harvard.edu)

German and Scandinavian Studies

Concentrations in German Studies and Scandinavian Studies and Secondary Field in German Studies

Chair: Prof. Alison Frank Johnson (afrank@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies in German: Dr. Lisa Parkes (lparkes@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies in Scandinavian: Dr. Agnes Broomé (agnesbroome@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Andreea Florescu D'Abramo (adabramo@fas.harvard.edu)

History of Art & Architecture

Concentration with Track in Architecture Studies and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. David Roxburgh (roxburgh@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Jennifer Roberts (roberts6@fas.harvard.edu)
Undergraduate Program Coordinator: TBD
Department Administrator: Ann Janik (ajanik@fas.harvard.edu)

History & Literature

Concentration

Chair: Prof. Philip Deloria (deloria@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Studies: Dr. Lauren Kaminsky (kaminsky@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Jessica Shires (shires@fas.harvard.edu)

Linguistics

Concentration and Secondary Fields in Language Theory and Language Structure, Language and Linguistic Theory, and Language, Mind and Brain

Chair: Prof. Kevin Ryan (kevinryan@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Gennaro Chierchia (chierch@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: TBD

Medieval Studies

Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Nicholas Watson (nwatson@fas.harvard.edu)
Administrative Director: Dr. Sean Gilsdorf (gilsdorf@fas.harvard.edu)

Music

Concentration and Secondary Field and Joint Degree Programs with New England Conservatory and Berklee College of Music

Chair: Prof. Ingrid Monson (imonson@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Richard Wolf (rwolf@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Administration: Nancy Shafman (nshafman@fas.harvard.edu)

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations

Concentration with Tracks and Secondary Fields in The Middle East in Antiquity, Histories and Cultures of Muslim Societies (Islamic Studies), Jewish Studies, and Modern Middle Eastern Studies

Chair: Prof. Khaled El-Rouayheb (kel@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Gojko Barjamovic (barjamovic@fas.harvard.edu)
Student Coordinator: Eva Misho (eva_misho@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Carrie Mountain (cmountain@fas.harvard.edu)

Philosophy

Concentration and Secondary Fields in General Philosophy, Value Theory, Contemporary Metaphysics and Epistemology, and History of Philosophy

Chair: Prof. Ned Hall (ehall@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Cheryl Chen (ckchen@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Emily Ware (eware@fas.harvard.edu)

Comparative Study of Religion

Concentration and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Catherine Brekus (cbrekus@hds.havard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Courtney Lamberth (lamberth@fas.harvard.edu)
Program Administrator: Dr. Elise Ciregna (emciregna@fas.harvard.edu)

Romance Languages & Literatures

Concentration with Special Fields in French and Francophone Studies, Italian Studies, Portuguese and Brazilian Studies, Spanish, Latin American and Latino Studies, and Romance Studies, and Secondary Fields in French, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish

Chair: Prof. Josiah Blackmore (jblackmore@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Kathy Richman (richman@fas.harvard.edu)
Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Cathy Downey (cdowney@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Mike Holmes (mholmes@fas.harvard.edu)

Slavic Literatures and Cultures

Concentration and Secondary Fields in Central European Studies and Russian Studies

Chair: Prof. Jonathan Bolton (jbolton@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undegraduate Studies: Prof. Nariman Skakov (nskakov@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Penny Skalnik (pskalnik@fas.harvard.edu)

South Asian Studies

Concentration with Tracks in South Asian Languages, Literatures, and Cultures and South Asian Studies, and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Parimal Patil (ppatil@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dr. Richard Delacy (rdelacy@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: TBD

Theater, Dance & Media

Concentration and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Ju Yon Kim (juyonkim@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Studies: Dr. Debra Levine (debralevine@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Emily Warshaw (ewarshaw@fas.harvard.edu)

Graduate Programs

Celtic Languages & Literatures

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Catherine McKenna (cmkenna@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Natasha Sumner (nsumner@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Mary Violette (violette@fas.harvard.edu)

The Classics

Doctor of Philosophy with Programs in Ancient History, Byzantine Greek, Classical Archaeology, Classical Philology, Classical Philosophy, Medieval Latin, and Modern Greek, and Secondary Fields in Classical Archaeology, Classical Philology, Classical Philosophy, and Greek and Roman History

Chair: Prof. David Elmer (delmer@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Irene Peirano Garrison (peirano@fas.harvard.edu)
Graduate Coordinator: Alison Lynch (alynch@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Teresa Wu (ttwu@fas.harvard.edu)

Comparative Literature

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. David Damrosch (ddamrosc@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. Verena Conley (vconley@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Melissa Carden (carden@fas.harvard.edu)

Critical Media Practice

Secondary Field

Director of Graduate Studies: Dr. Joana Pimenta (pimenta@fas.harvard.edu)
Administrative Director: Julie Mallozzi (juliemallozzi@fas.harvard.edu)

East Asian Languages & Civilizations

Doctor of Philosophy in EALC with Fields in Chinese, Japanese and Korean Literature; Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Inner Asian History (including Tibet); East Asian Buddhism; and East Asian Arts, Film and Cultural Studies; and Doctor of Philosophy in History and East Asian Languages (HEAL)

Chair: Prof. Shigehisa Kuriyama (hkuriyam@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Wai-yee Li (wyli@fas.harvard.edu)
Graduate Program Coordinator: Carolyn Choong (choong@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: John Park (johnpark@fas.harvard.edu)

English

Doctor of Philosophy

Chair: Prof. Glenda Carpio (carpio@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Daniel Donoghue (dgd@wjh.harvard.edu)
Graduate Program Administrator: Gwen Urdang-Brown (urdangbr@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Anna McDonald (acmcdon@fas.harvard.edu)

Film and Visual Studies

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. David Joselit (djoselit@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Guliana Bruno (fvs@fas.harvard.edu)
Graduate Coordinator: Emily Amendola (fvs@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Administration: Denise Oberdan (oberdan@fas.harvard.edu)

Germanic Languages & Literatures

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Alison Frank Johnson (afrank@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies in German: Prof. Eric Rentschler (erentsch@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Andreea Florescu D'Abramo (adabramo@fas.harvard.edu)

History of Art & Architecture

Doctor of Philosophy

Chair: Prof. David Roxburgh (roxburgh@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Ewa Lajer-Burcharth (burchart@fas.harvard.edu)
Graduate Program Coordinator: Sean Fisher (seanfisher@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Ann Janik (ajanik@fas.harvard.edu)

Inner Asian & Altaic Studies

Doctor of Philosophy

Chair: Leonard van der Kuijp (vanderk@fas.harvard.edu)
Program Administrator: C. Rose Cortese (crcortes@fas.harvard.edu)

Linguistics

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Fields in Historical Linguistics and Linguistic Theory

Chair: Prof. Kevin Ryan (kevinryan@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Jonathan Bobaljik (bobaljik@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: TBD

Medieval Studies

Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Nicholas Watson (nwatson@fas.harvard.edu)
Administrative Director: Dr. Sean Gilsdorf (gilsdorf@fas.harvard.edu)

Music

Master of Arts, Doctor of Philosophy with Programs in Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Theory, Composition, and Creative Practice and Critical Inquiry, and Secondary Fields in Musicology/Ethnomusicology

Chair: Prof. Ingrid Monson (imonson@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Kay Kaufman Shelemay (shelemay@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Administration: Nancy Shafman (nshafman@fas.harvard.edu)

Near Eastern Languages & Civilizations

Doctor of Philosophy with Fields in Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Jewish History and Culture, and Histories and Cultures of Muslim Societies

Chair: Prof. Khaled El-Rouayheb (kel@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Malika Zeghal (mzeghal@fas.harvard.edu)
Student Coordinator: Eva Misho (eva_misho@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Carrie Mountain (cmountain@fas.harvard.edu)

Philosophy

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Ned Hall (ehall@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Mark Richard (richard4@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Emily Ware (eware@fas.harvard.edu)

Regional Studies—East Asia

Master of Arts

Chair: Alex Zahlten (azahlten@fas.harvard.edu)
Program Administrator: C. Rose Cortese (crcortes@fas.harvard.edu)

The Study of Religion

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field

Chair: Prof. Catherine Brekus (cbrekus@hds.havard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. David Holland (dholland@hds.harvard.edu)
Program Administrator: Dr. Elise Ciregna (emciregna@fas.harvard.edu)

Romance Languages & Literatures

Doctor of Philosophy with Fields in French and Francophone Studies, Italian Studies, Latinx Studies, Portuguese and Luzo-Brazilian Literatures, and Spanish and Latin American Literatures, and Secondary Fields in RLL and Latinx Studies

Chair: Prof. Josiah Blackmore (jblackmore@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Daniel Aguirre Oteiza (daguirre@fas.harvard.edu)
Graduate Program Coordinator: Kathy Hanley (khanley@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Mike Holmes (mholmes@fas.harvard.edu)

Slavic Languages & Literatures

Doctor of Philosophy and Secondary Field in Slavic Literary/Cultural Studies

Chair: Prof. Jonathan Bolton (jbolton@fas.harvard.edu)
Director of Graduate Studies: Prof. Julie Buckler (buckler@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: Penny Skalnik (pskalnik@fas.harvard.edu)

South Asian Studies

Doctor of Philosophy with Programs in Sanskrit and Indian Studies, South Asian Studies, and Tibetan and Himalayan Studies

Chair: Prof. Parimal Patil (ppatil@fas.harvard.edu)
Department Administrator: TBD